The Thinking Blogger Award: Who, Me?

thinkingbloggerpf81.jpgthinkingbloggerpf8.jpg

I began writing this blog a little over a year ago as an outlet for my passion for subjects like customer experience and innovation.  Like a parrot, I found people who spoke about these things and I attempted to do what they do, although typically without the same level of authority.  Through this experience, I have made friends with many of those people who I look up to and have had the opportunity to engage in some very rich, thoughtful and entertaining conversations, which after all, is the main reason for getting involved with social media, is it not.  I see myself as a student and many of them, my teachers.

This past weekend, I was honored to be given The Thinking Blogger Award by one of my favorite teachers, Becky Carroll.  Becky is a Customer Experience passionista with some serious credibility.  She also pens a fantastic blog on CX called Customers Rock.  It’s at the top of my blogroll and should be on yours as well. 

Back in February, 2007, Ilker Yoldas started the ball rolling by highlighting blogs that he felt were truly “meaty” with great content.  He started the Thinking Blogs Award to help publicize great blogs.  In keeping with the rules of the meme, I will now share five of my favorites with you.  Following the path back from Becky, I see that many of my favorites have already received the award, so I’m going to attempt to throw some new content into the mix.

Dominic Basulto – Endless Innovation: Dominic’s aptly named blog covers innovation on all fronts.  He brings stories of great innovation  to the conversation and consistently challenges readers to think about approaching innovation as an evolutionary process.

Michael Urlocker – On Disruption: Disruptive shifts within industries are frequently followed by a changing of the guard in terms of industry leaders.  Businesses that aren’t sensing and responding to disruptions that impact them will invariably find themselves struggling.  Michael’s blog is one of the best sources out there for analysis of the disruptions that are occurring right now.

Greg Verdino – Greg Verdino’s Marketing Blog:  Greg has his finger on the pulse of new media channels and is a great source of information about their evolution.  He always shares his perspective and opinion on a story and consistently challenges readers do the same.

Katie Konrath – getFreshMinds:  I just met Katie (virtually) last week.  She visited NextUp after seeing Becky’s award to me in her feed reader.  I’m glad she did, because it allowed me to discover her blog about “Ideas so fresh….  they should be slapped”.  Really great stuff. 

Matt Haverkamp – The Digital Perm: Matt covers advertising and goes a great job of highlighting innovative campaigns and suggesting missed opportunities.  He’s also a bit obsessed with Roger Federer.

So there you go.  If you aren’t already familiar with these great blogs, do yourself a favor and check them out. 

5 comments so far

  1. Becky Carroll on

    Doug, thank you so much for your kind comments. I am also honored you would consider me a teacher for you, as I have learned a lot from you as well!

    Glad to see I sent someone your way, too! Great job, Katie, for checking out Doug’s blog! 🙂

  2. Matt Haverkamp on

    Doug, thanks for the honor and the link. I love the new layout. I have been out the loop for some time. Your post has given me the perfect jump back in.

    And yes, I am obsessed with Federer. Perfection at its best.

    Hope all is well in your world.

  3. BillyWarhol on

    Nice Blog U have here + thx fer popping by!!

    i’m grateful MyBlogLog has provided a jump off point to see a lot of Great Blogs + meet some nice people*

    Congrats on yer Award!!

    Cheers!! Billy ;))

  4. Katie on

    Doug, I’m still thrilled that you would nominate me as a thinking blogger after such a little time. But, I’m happy you did because it gave me a chance to figure out what blogs make me think as well. Thank you very much and many congrats to you again. I love reading your blog.

  5. Y8 - Y8 on

    Excellent job! Thanks for the great posting and your all efforts. I think the above article is valuable for all concerned people. At least, if was very useful for me. I’ve bookmarked this page for future reference, thank you again. .


Leave a Reply

  • Recognition

    Alltop, all the cool kids (and me)

    Top Customer Service Blog
    Online MBA Rankings
  • Recent Comments

    media player classic on $2000 a Year
    SEO Tips on $2000 a Year
    trim.ws on $2000 a Year
    visit koh samui thai… on $2000 a Year
  • Top 10 Posts

  • Amazon Apple Best Buy Blogging Brand Engagement Brand Management Circuit City Co-Creation Content Conversations Customer Experience Customer Made Digital Home Disruption Entertainment Experience Economy Gaming Generation C (ontent) Global Connectivity Greatest Hits Innovation Lifestyle & Leisure Loyalty Marketing & Advertising Microsoft MP3 orthodoxies Power to the Pocket Retail Retail Close to the Customer SecondLife Sensors Services Simplicity Social Media Social Networks Sony Techno Wars Telecom The New Media This Changes Everything Uncategorized Virtual Life Wi-Life Youth
  • RSS Archive Favorites

  • Where Are You?

    Locations of visitors to this page
  • Archives

  • Next-Up

