Hold the Quechup

I’ve been had.  I should have known better, but in my eagerness to check out new Social Networking sites, I quickly replied “yes” to an invite I received this morning  from someone I trusted. The invite was to join Quechup.  The name should have been the first clue, followed quickly by their slogan, “the social networking platform sweeping the globe”.  That’s funny, I’ve never heard of them.   The fact that the person that invited me hadn’t mentioned it on Twitter AND would share one of his invites with me also seemed odd, but I jumped in anyway.

Like many social networking sites, Quechup allows you to bump your Gmail or Yahoo contact list up against it’s database to see if you have friends already in the network.  What they don’t tell you is that they then send an invite to everyone in your contact list, saying that you gave permission when, in fact, you did not.

In my book that’s called SPAMMING!  These guys should be shut down now!

If you received an invite from me, I am truly sorry.  Please delete the email and do not register on Quechup.

8 comments so far

  1. Geoff Livingston on

    Glad to know, I received a similar invite this morning. I won’t boot up. thanks for the heads up.

  2. Katie Konrath on

    No worries, Doug. I received your email, but found out about the spamming from a blog post before so didn’t sign-up.

    This tactic doesn’t make sense to me. They just end up making people mad…that can’t be a good way to get positive attention for a new networking site.

  3. […] guess what: Other people had the same problem: here, here, here, here, and […]

  4. Valeria Maltoni on

    There’s worse. I just posted about another social site that lets people submit profiles for other people — you could be there already, scraped from bits and pieces found here and there. Shhht, Peek You is reading and scraping.

  5. […] I’ve been had. I should have known better, but in my eagerness to check out new Social Networking sites, I quickly replied “yes” to an invite I received this morning from someone I trusted. (link) […]

  6. Jayne on

    I’ve been had as well. Now what do I do?

  7. Doug Meacham on

    Jayne, I went back to Quechup and deleted my account. That’s what I would recommend.
    Doug

  8. Lori on

    Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I have read
    stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark
    this page.


Leave a Reply

  • Recognition

    Alltop, all the cool kids (and me)

    Top Customer Service Blog
    Online MBA Rankings
  • Recent Comments

    media player classic on $2000 a Year
    SEO Tips on $2000 a Year
    trim.ws on $2000 a Year
    visit koh samui thai… on $2000 a Year
  • Top 10 Posts

  • Amazon Apple Best Buy Blogging Brand Engagement Brand Management Circuit City Co-Creation Content Conversations Customer Experience Customer Made Digital Home Disruption Entertainment Experience Economy Gaming Generation C (ontent) Global Connectivity Greatest Hits Innovation Lifestyle & Leisure Loyalty Marketing & Advertising Microsoft MP3 orthodoxies Power to the Pocket Retail Retail Close to the Customer SecondLife Sensors Services Simplicity Social Media Social Networks Sony Techno Wars Telecom The New Media This Changes Everything Uncategorized Virtual Life Wi-Life Youth
  • RSS Archive Favorites

  • Where Are You?

    Locations of visitors to this page
  • Archives

  • Next-Up

