Random Thoughts

chance-dice-random-numbers-2-ahd.jpgSurprise, Surprise, Surprise! In the last week or so, I’ve been tagged not once, not twice, but three times with the latest fun meme echoing around the blogosphere – Eight Random Things About Me. Something tells me that many of us (self included) have relatively small social networks and need to get out more. Before I give you the facts, the rules say I need to tell you the rules:

  • Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
  • People who are tagged need to write their own post about their eight things and post these rules.
  • At the end of your post, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
    Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

Here’s my list:

  1. I’ve always lived in Richmond, VA
  2. Way back in the late 70s, my band was playing at a fraternity party at Washington & Lee University. Sam & Dave came into the house and played “I’m a Soul Man” and a couple of other songs with us. They had played a concert on campus earlier that evening.
  3. CDs currently loaded in my car: Porcupine Tree: Fear of a Blank Planet, Fall Out Boy: Infinity on High , Genesis: Trick of the Tail (remastered), Smashing Pumpkins: Zeitgeist, Gomez: How we Operate.
  4. Every car that I’ve owned has been red
  5. Like Drew, I go to Disney World a lot.
  6. I prefer charcoal to gas (gratuitous plug for my friend’s invention)
  7. I’ve been married for 23 years. My wife is in the insurance business, my 13-year-old daughter wants to be an actress.
  8. Favorite TV shows are Lost, Countdown w/Olbermann, House, and any Star Trek rerun.

And now, so as to not break the chain, I hereby tag David, Joi, Doug, Chris, Jeff, Becky, Joseph, Jeff, and Geoff.

Update:  Just realized that I tagged 9 people so here’s a 9th random thing about me:  I don’t like following the rules :-)

14 comments so far

  1. Doug Haslam on

    I’m on it— thanks (I think)!

  2. Geoff Livingston on

    Thanks for including me, Doug. Cool college night story!

  3. [...] it was inevitable… I got tagged on the Eight Random Things About Me by Doug Meacham. I was hoping to avoid this one… but it does seem like frivolous weekend fun. And it was [...]

  4. Becky Carroll on

    Will post this weekend, Doug!

  5. Valeria Maltoni on

    I tagged Becky as well, for the same meme. I like your 9th thing, we have something in common now ;-)

  6. [...] McMaster tagged me earlier. But then managed to get tagged twice on Friday, by Connie Reece and by Doug Meacham. So I thought I better get Ei ght Random Things About Me out of the way and save the rest of [...]

  7. Joi on

    Yay! Random Rocks. I will post today.

  8. [...] aaron, blog tag, The Rat, boy scouts, public radio, Uncategorized — Doug Haslam @ 9:12 pm Doug Meacham tagged me the other day, so it’s my turn to weigh in on the “Eight Random Things About [...]

  9. [...] been tagged with a Meme called 8 Random things not once but 3 times this week by Eric Rice, Doug Meacham & Andy Bilodeau. A blog meme is kinda of like a game of tag in the blogging world, someone [...]

  10. Matt Haverkamp on

    Nice response Doug.

  11. Pieter Ardinois on

    Great!
    thanks for sharing your actual car CD collection. Discovered two new bands: Porcumine Tree, Fall Out Boy.

  12. [...] 2007 8 random things tag Posted by Joi under z personal , z friends , online community  I was tagged a month ago by Doug Meacham at NextUp, but I am throwing in my “I’m a workaholic and took my [...]

  13. [...] Doug Meacham tagged me the other day, so it’s my turn to weigh in on the “Eight Random Things About Me” meme. First, the rules: [...]


Leave a Reply

  • Recognition

    Alltop, all the cool kids (and me)

    Top Customer Service Blog
    Online MBA Rankings
  • Recent Comments

    Vista Vapors Free Sh… on Your Brand is Defined by the C…
    call contact center on How to Poorly Represent for Yo…
    josie maran argan oi… on THE UNCANNY X-MEN (AND NEWS CO…
    Lavon on The Music Store in Your P…
  • Top 10 Posts

  • Amazon Apple Best Buy Blogging Brand Engagement Brand Management Circuit City Co-Creation Content Conversations Customer Experience Customer Made Digital Home Disruption Entertainment Experience Economy Gaming Generation C (ontent) Global Connectivity Greatest Hits Innovation Lifestyle & Leisure Loyalty Marketing & Advertising Microsoft MP3 orthodoxies Power to the Pocket Retail Retail Close to the Customer SecondLife Sensors Services Simplicity Social Media Social Networks Sony Techno Wars Telecom The New Media This Changes Everything Uncategorized Virtual Life Wi-Life Youth
  • RSS Archive Favorites

  • Where Are You?

    Locations of visitors to this page
  • Archives

  • Next-Up

  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

